A KWIC response under pressure

April 30, 2013 § 1 Comment

I’ve never been in an interview where I have felt myself. Just to be clear, felt like myself.  They are pressure situations, often in front of several people, where you sit and wait for the next complexly worded question. Each one asked by a different person so you don’t know where to look. Many are lengthy with several parts.

“It’s OK if you need us to repeat the question,” she said. I suspected that if I tried that avenue someone would casually make a small note beside the question, perhaps “trouble focusing,” or “poor short term memory” or simply doodling the equivalent of, “tsk, tsk.”

Some things do seem to come easily at interviews. I have no trouble sweating. I clear my throat regularly as if I have some undiagnosed ailment, causing everyone to slowly lean back in their chairs and bring their hands to their face as if deep in thought, but really hoping to fend off any germs. I can even quickly discover how the mechanical chair works, one time knocking the control with a stray hand and instantly finding my chin on the table looking up at everyone.

I came across something called KWIC in Marlene Caroselli’s “Critical Thinking,” a book with a number of activities I use in teaching and facilitation. KWIC provides a framework for formulating a reply under pressure and at least fend off some of the desire to tell the panel whatever thought comes to mind in whatever order they hit your mouth.

KWIC gives you a way of building a story and fits well with behavioral interviews. The “K” is for Kernel – the purpose of your story or, in an interview, the problem, opportunity or challenge you are going to tell your interviewers where you excelled. One sentence should be enough to set the stage.

The “W” is for Widen. Expand on your introduction and tell more about the story. Remember, you should be at the center of the story; you are the hero. The “I” is for Illustrate and is where you give specific examples or details that support or prove what you did. And finally, the “C” is for Conclude. Here you sum your accomplishments with as measurable a statement as the case will allow. It represents the value you provide.

In addition to pressure situations requiring a quick verbal response, KWIC provides a good structure for written responses. For example, responding to an email or structuring written responses to application questions. Like anything, practice will make you better, and developing a set of KWIC stories of your accomplishments in advance (and practicing them orally) will help you prepare for interviews.

Though it isn’t of much use when your chair unexpectedly drops a foot.  A KWIC “oops” and a laugh seemed sufficient.

I got that job.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to A KWIC response under pressure

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading A KWIC response under pressure at The Job of Getting a Job.

meta