Nuts

May 20, 2013 § Leave a comment

“The squirrels have been at the garden,” I said, a note of despair in my voice.

Looking up at the neighbor’s house I see a little black face sticking out through a hole in the front veranda. I swear it is smiling. My neighbor doesn’t live in the house. He lives in a house across the street and as best I can tell, uses this one for storage and an occasional opportunity to sing opera or, my theory, escape for a few moments of peace from his wife. I occasionally see her barking commands at him wielding a large stick.

Regardless, he has left the house for the squirrels. Perhaps not entirely to them. The squirrels, always full of energy and ingenuity, appear to have sublet to a family of raccoons. I appear to be living next to Animal Farm. Human’s rush to live in cities has created at least these two dependent species living off our refuse. Abandoning urban life would surely put both on the endangered species list. And yet we think them cute.

If Superman can wear reading glasses to hide his identity, I guess rats can grow bushy tails and be called cute squirrels. And raccoons look like cute bandits. Are we really that easy to fool? As I return indoors to the distraction of work, I think maybe we are. I’m reviewing resumes for a position available at work. While I won’t relate any to animals, there are more than enough bushy tails.

But then again, we like things cute. Or at least dressed up. The facts alone are rather dreary; give me a story. As I read through the resumes, I am drawn towards the bushy tails and the raccoon eyes. I’m reading about Superman hoping Clark Kent doesn’t show up.

So to be safe, I’m going to bring an old raccoon tail with me and, if needed, I can ask them to hold it while we conduct the balance of the interview so they can look a little more like their resume.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Nuts at The Job of Getting a Job.

meta